Booking choice: The mosque, palace and tower day from Dubai, from $80 per person. Check dates Tour details
For most of its life the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque cost nothing to enter. That ended in September 2026, when the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque Centre (SZGMC) started charging non-worshipping visitors a fee and the UAE papers ran the story on 17 September. Plenty of blogs, cruise port guides and even some tour listings still say "free entry". As of October 2026 they are out of date.
The good news: the fee is low, the free cultural tour survives, and several groups of people still go in for nothing. The details matter most if you are booking a tour, because some listings include the ticket and some do not say.
The quick answer
Tourists pay AED 10 (about $2.70), Emirates ID holders AED 5, and visitors who come with a tour operator AED 8 each. Worshippers, over-60s, children under 3 and people of determination go in free, and the 30 to 45-minute cultural tour is still free. Book the visitor pass on szgmc.gov.ae, up to a month ahead.
How much is the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque entry fee in 2026?
AED 10 for tourists, AED 5 for Emirates ID holders and AED 8 per person for visitors who come through a tour operator.
The official SZGMC FAQ lists the categories in plain words: visitors from outside the UAE AED 10, Emirates ID holders AED 5, visitors through tour operators AED 8, and official delegations at a rate set by the relevant authority. The National, Gulf News and Khaleej Times all reported the same figures on 17 September 2026.
In dollars that is small change. At the pegged rate of about AED 3.67 to the dollar, a tourist pays roughly $2.70 and a resident about $1.40. A family of four tourists pays AED 40, around $11. The centre has not published an exact start date, only that the fee applies from September 2026, so treat any listing or blog that still says "free" as older than that.
| Who | Entry fee | In USD (approx.) |
|---|---|---|
| Tourist (no Emirates ID) | AED 10 | $2.70 |
| UAE resident with Emirates ID | AED 5 | $1.40 |
| Visitor on a tour operator booking | AED 8 | $2.20 |
| Worshipper coming to pray | Free | Free |
| Visitor over 60 | Free | Free |
| Child under 3 | Free | Free |
| Person of determination | Free | Free |
Who can still visit the Grand Mosque for free?
Worshippers, visitors over 60, children under 3 and people of determination. The free cultural tour also stays free.
The mosque is first a place of prayer, and the fee is for sightseeing visitors only. Worshippers enter without a ticket, as before. Gulf News lists the other exemptions: visitors over 60, children under 3 and people of determination (the UAE term for people with disabilities). Wheelchairs and club cars are available from security on request, per the FAQ.
One thing to know if you are over 60 or travelling with a toddler: you still need a visitor pass, even at AED 0. The booking form asks for each visitor's age group, residency and nationality, so fill it in honestly and carry the passport that matches.
What does the AED 8 tour operator rate mean if you book a tour?
Operators register their groups and pay AED 8 a head. On tours whose listing says the mosque ticket is included, that fee is already in your price.
Tour companies get a dedicated registration route and a group rate of AED 8 per visitor, according to the official FAQ. For you that means no separate booking on szgmc.gov.ae: the operator registers the group and you show up dressed for the visit with your passport.
Read the inclusions, though. As of October 2026, the mosque, palace and tower day from Dubai, the mosque and Louvre tour, the Abu Dhabi mosque and palace tour and the Qasr Al Watan tour from Abu Dhabi all list "Sheikh Zayed Mosque entry tickets". The private car from Dubai lists "Entry Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque". Others, including the budget day tour and the half-day mosque tour, do not name the ticket in their inclusions. On those, ask the operator through your booking before the day. At AED 8 it will not break anyone, but nobody likes a surprise at the gate.
| Tour | Mosque ticket named in listing? | From |
|---|---|---|
| Mosque, palace and tower day | Yes | $80 pp |
| Mosque and Louvre day | Yes | $101 pp |
| Mosque and palace from Abu Dhabi | Yes | $91 pp |
| Mosque and Qasr Al Watan from Abu Dhabi | Yes | $81 pp |
| Private car from Dubai | Yes ("Entry Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque") | $199 per group |
| Half-day mosque tour | Not stated: ask | $58 pp |
| Budget day tour | Not stated: ask | $42 pp |

The flagship day from Dubai lists the mosque ticket, the Qasr Al Watan ticket and the Etihad Towers deck, with an abaya lent to women.
Explore the mosque, palace and tower day from Dubai Tour detailsHow do you book the Grand Mosque visitor pass?
On szgmc.gov.ae, up to one month ahead, for 1 to 10 people per booking. You can also register at the Visitor Centre when you arrive.
The individual booking page asks for the number of visitors, a date and time, your email and phone, and for each person their gender, age group, residency status and nationality. It confirms with a one-time code sent by email. Bookings open a month ahead (Khaleej Times), and private cultural tours need 24 hours' notice.
Walk-ups are still possible: the centre lets visitors register at points inside the Visitor Centre. On a busy Friday afternoon or a winter weekend, booking ahead saves you a queue. The hours to plan around are 9 am to 8:30 pm Saturday to Thursday (last entry 8 pm), and on Friday 9 to 11:30 am and 2:30 to 8:30 pm, per the official hours. Some older pages still say 10 pm. They are wrong.

What do the museum, Diya and other extras cost?
The Light & Peace Museum costs AED 25, Diya AED 25, or AED 40 for both. The cultural tour is free.
The same September reports set prices for the paid extras. Khaleej Times and The National give AED 25 for the Light & Peace Museum, AED 25 for Diya, the 360-degree light experience, and AED 40 for a combined ticket. The free cultural tours run 30 to 45 minutes, in English and Arabic, Saturday to Thursday at 11 am, 1 pm and 5 pm and on Friday at 11 am and 5 pm (cultural tours page). The National also mentions a paid main prayer hall tour; it is a single report so far, so check the booking page before you count on it.
One more cost has crept in. The National reports that the mosque no longer lends abayas at the door and sells them for about AED 45 instead. Most shared tours still lend women an abaya and scarf, but nobody lends men trousers. The dress code guide has the details, so you can skip that purchase altogether.
| Extra | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cultural tour (30 to 45 min) | Free | English or Arabic, daily slots |
| Light & Peace Museum | AED 25 | Book on szgmc.gov.ae |
| Diya, 360-degree light experience | AED 25 | Book on szgmc.gov.ae |
| Museum + Diya combined | AED 40 | Saves AED 10 |
| Abaya bought on site | About AED 45 | Bring your own or use a tour's |
Does the fee change which tour you should pick?
Hardly. It adds AED 8 to 10 per person, which is small next to the trip. Time at the mosque and what is included matter far more.
If you are coming from Dubai, the fee is a rounding error on a day that costs $42 to $101 per person. What changes the value of a tour is how long you actually get inside the grounds: the mosque and Louvre tour states two hours, while budget days treat the mosque as one stop among many. The city tour guide compares them stop by stop.
Going on your own? Then the fee is the only ticket you need, and the free cultural tour covers the story of the building. That is still one of the best-value visits in the Gulf. Book the pass, dress right, and arrive 15 minutes before a tour slot.
Half a day from Dubai with nothing on the plan but the mosque and a licensed guide.
Check dates for the half-day mosque tour from DubaiFrequently asked questions
Is the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque still free in 2026?
No, not for sightseeing visitors. Since September 2026 tourists pay AED 10, Emirates ID holders AED 5 and tour groups AED 8 per person. Worshippers, over-60s, children under 3 and people of determination still go in free.
Do I pay the fee again if my tour includes the mosque ticket?
No. Operators register their groups and pay the AED 8 rate. If the listing names the mosque entry ticket, it is in your price; if it does not, ask the operator before the day.
Is the Grand Mosque cultural tour free?
Yes. The 30 to 45-minute cultural tour is still free, in English and Arabic, at 11 am, 1 pm and 5 pm Saturday to Thursday and at 11 am and 5 pm on Friday.
Where do I buy a Grand Mosque ticket?
Only on the official site, szgmc.gov.ae, up to one month ahead, or at the Visitor Centre on arrival. You do not need a reseller for the entry ticket.
Ready to book
Choose your tour
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before on every option. Prices are from-prices in USD and move with the season.

Dubai to Abu Dhabi: Grand Mosque, Royal Palace & Etihad Tower
- Hotel pickup and drop-off in Dubai
- Licensed guide
- Grand Mosque entry ticket

From Dubai: Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque Guided Tour
Half a day, mosque only: the shortest guided trip from Dubai

From Abu Dhabi: Sheikh Zayed Mosque, Royal Palace & Etihad Tower
Staying in Abu Dhabi: mosque, palace and tower deck, tickets included





